New look for VFL Cats

March 14, 2024 12:10 pm in by
Anakie's Ajang Kuol Mun has earned a spot on Geelong's VFL list. (Jason Borys/Pixled Sports Media)

Former Richmond rookie Kaelan Bradtke, ex-Footscray speedster Jamieson Ballantyne and ex-Frankston big man Nick Minchin are among 15 new faces joining Geelong’s VFL list for the 2024 season.

The Cats have unveiled a 37-man squad, with exciting Anakie prospect Ajang Kuol mun, who made the move from soccer to footy ahead of last year, and reigning Talent League Morrish Medal winner Paddy Hughes also earning spots in coach Mark Corrigan’s squad.

Hughes is one of five 2023 Geelong Falcons squad members to get an opportunity with the Cats, joining Ethan Borys, Tobyn Murray, Tom Peirce and Joe Pike.

Article continues after this ad

Pike will also spend time at the Falcons as a 19-year-old.


Others with VFL experience joining the youthful squad are Darcy Edmends (GWS Giants) and Hamish Sinnott (Carlton).

Nick Hooker managed a SANFL appearance with Port Adelaide in 2021, having also played in the Tasmanian State League.

Muoteer Reech spent last year with WAFL club East Fremantle before returning to Geelong before Christmas.

Article continues after this ad

Geelong has its final practice against Sandringham at Deakin Uni on Saturday afternoon before hosting Werribee the following Saturday, 23 March, at GMHBA Stadium to open its season.

X: @krockfootball


New: Jamieson Ballantyne (Geelong West), Ethan Borys (South Barwon), Kaelan Bradtke (Bell Park), Darcy Edmends (Heidelberg), Nicholas Hooker (Warrnambool), Paddy Hughes (Torquay), Ajang Kuol mun (Anakie), Nicholas Minchin (St Mary’s), Tobyn Murray (Colac), Tom Peirce (South Barwon), Joe Pike (Barwon Heads), Oscar Pollock (Port Fairy), Muoteer Reech (South Barwon), Hamish Sinnott (Camperdown), Todd White (South Barwon)

Returning: Kye Annand (Geelong West), Lewis Antonac (St Joseph’s), Lachlan Bond (Redan), Daniel Capiron (St Joseph’s), Kade Chalcraft (St Mary’s), Will Christie (Wangaratta Rovers), Mace Cousins (Darley), Ryan Eyers (Corowa-Rutherglen), Liam Fiore (Newtown & Chilwell), Hunter Gottschling (Wangaratta), Brayden Ham (St Mary’s), Marcus Herbert (Leopold), Euriah Hollard (Bell Park), Ryley Hutchins (Terang Mortlake), Tanner Lewis (Geelong West), Matty Lloyd (Newtown & Chilwell), Tanner Lovell (Geelong West), Hamish Lucas (Bell Park), Tyler Norton (Wangaratta), Osca Riccardi (Bell Park), Darby Schilder (Melton), Will Sheahan (Leopold), Bailey van de Heuvel (Leopold)