Curtain-raisers for VFL Cats

February 13, 2024 12:00 pm in by
Osca Riccardi in action for Geelong's VFL team in 2023. (Darrian Traynor/Getty Images via AFL Photos)

Geelong’s VFL team will feature in at least three AFL curtain-raiser fixtures in 2024.

The schedule for the VFL and VFLW seasons has been released this afternoon, with the men playing an 18-game season across 21 rounds and the women a 14-game season.

The VFL team will feature in curtain raisers to the AFL games at GMHBA Stadium against the GWS Giants and Richmond on May 25 and June 1, respectively, among its eight home games.

Article continues after this ad

They will also play before the Cats’ AFL clash with Sydney at the SCG on June 9.

The door is also open to play Footscray before the Geelong-Western Bulldogs matchup on the weekend of July 20-21.

The Cats have return meetings with Box Hill, Carlton and Sandringham but don’t play reigning premier Gold Coast, Casey Demons, Essendon, Southport or Williamstown.

Geelong’s VFLW team opens its season with consecutive doubleheaders with the VFL team at GMHBA Stadium on Saturday, March and Easter Saturday, March 30.

However, they are the only appearances at GMHBA Stadium for the Cats in 2024, with a home game at Colac against Darebin on Saturday, April 13, and three hitouts at Deakin University.

Article continues after this ad

Geelong will travel interstate for the first time when it meets the GWS Giants at Tom Wills Oval on Saturday, April 20.

The Giants and Sydney will feature in the competition from rounds 3-7.

The Cats will play all teams except the Swans once, with double-ups against Carlton and Box.

See below for the full fixtures.

X: @krockfootball

Article continues after this ad


1Saturday, March 23WerribeeGMHBA Stadium2:05pm
2Saturday, March 30Box Hill HawksGMHBA Stadium11:05am
3Sunday, April 14Northern BullantsGenis Steel Oval2:05pm
4Saturday, April 20Brisbane LionsBrighton Homes Arena1:05pm
5Saturday, April 27CarltonIKON Park12:05pm
6Sunday, May 5FrankstonGMHBA Stadium1:05pm
8Saturday, May 18CoburgPiranha Park1:05pm
9Saturday, May 25GWS GiantsGMHBA Stadium12:05pm
10Saturday, June 1RichmondGMHBA Stadium3:30pm
11Sunday, June 9Sydney SwansSCG11:35am
13Sunday, June 23Port MelbourneETU Stadium2:05pm
14June 29/30SandringhamGMHBA StadiumTBC
15July 6/7Box Hill HawksBox Hill City OvalTBC
16July 13/14CollingwoodTBCTBC
17July 20/21FootscrayGMHBA StadiumTBC
18July 27/28North MelbourneArden StreetTBC
20August 10/11CarltonGMHBA StadiumTBC
21August 11/18SandringhamTrevor Barker Beach OvalTBC


1Saturday, March 23CarltonGMHBA Stadium11:15am
2Saturday, March 30Box Hill HawksGMHBA Stadium2:05pm
3Saturday, April 6Southern SaintsTrevor Barker Beach Oval11:00am
4Saturday, April 13DarebinCentral Reserve – Colac1:00pm
5Saturday, April 20GWS GiantsTom Wills Oval1:00pm
6Saturday, April 27North MelbourneArden Street11:00am
7Saturday, May 4CarltonIkon Park12:00pm
8Saturday, May 11CollingwoodDeakin University12:00pm
9Saturday, May 18Casey DemonsCasey Fields2:30pm
10Saturday, May 25WilliamstownDSV Stadium12:00pm
11Saturday, June 1Western BulldogsDeakin University2:00pm
12Sunday, June 9Box Hill HawksBox Hill City Oval11:30am
13Saturday, June 15Port MelbourneDeakin University12:00pm
14Saturday, June 22EssendonWindy Hill2:30pm