Hawk part of greatest NSW team

May 9, 2019 11:00 pm in by

NORTH Melbourne legend Wayne Carey has been named captain of the official Greatest NSW Australian rules team of all time.

Former Sydney captain Paul Kelly and Essendon stalwart Terry Daniher were named vice-captains of a squad which also includes Shane Crawford, Lenny Hayes and Haydn Bunton.

The team announced on Thursday includes five modern-day players: Sydney’s Jarrad McVeigh and Kieren Jack, Hawthorn duo Luke Breust and Isaac Smith plus Geelong’s Tom Hawkins.

Article continues after this ad

Carey’s North Melbourne key forward partner and current Sydney coach John Longmire also made the 22.

Players like Crawford and Neale Daniher, who went to school interstate, but whose parents remained in NSW were eligible.

Players had to tally a minimum of 100 games in a senior league, VFL/AFL, SANFL or WAFL and be placed in positions where they predominantly played throughout their career.

Allan Jeans, who won four premierships with Hawthorn in addition to being at the helm for St Kilda’s only flag, was named coach of the team, with Daniher as the assistant.


Article continues after this ad

B: Chris Lethbridge (Sydney YMCA/Fitzroy), Leo Barry (Deniliquin Football Club/Sydney Swans), Ross Henshaw (North Albury/North Melbourne)

HB: Jarryd McVeigh (Pennant Hills/Sydney Swans), Gordon Strang (East Albury/Richmond), Dennis Carroll (Albury Tigers/Sydney Swans)

C: Shane Crawford (Finley Football Club/Hawthorn), Lenny Hayes (Pennant Hills/St Kilda), Neil Davies (Central Broken Hill/Glenelg)

HF: Terry Daniher (Ungarie Football Club/Essendon co-vice capt), Wayne Carey (North Wagga Football Club/North Melbourne capt), Luke Breust (Temora Football Club/Hawthorn)

F: Paul Kelly (Wagga Tigers/Sydney Swans co-vice capt), Bill Mohr (Wagga Tigers/St Kilda), John Longmire (Corowa-Rutherglen FC/North Melbourne)

Article continues after this ad

FOLL: Bruce McGregor (West Broken Hill/West Adelaide), Brett Kirk (North Albury/Sydney Swans), Haydn Bunton (West Albury Football Club/Fitzroy)

I/C: Mark Maclure (East Sydney Football Club/Carlton), Isaac Smith (Wagga Tigers/Hawthorn), Kieren Jack (Pennant Hills/Sydney Swans), Tom Hawkins (Finley Football Club/Geelong).

© AAP 2019


Keep up to date

Sign up for our newsletter